All You Need is Doug

Thoughts on PR, media, Michigan football & how to get the company named after me

Some Thoughts on New York

with one comment

I’m heading to New York for the New York Auto Show. I’ve been to the Big Apple a few times already and really like the city. So without further ado, here are some quick thoughts about what I think about New York:

  • If I ever lived in New York, I would have a difficult time actually getting any work done at my job. I would have the incredible desire to just wander around Central Park.
  • If you live in Manhattan, I don’t get how you can raise a family. Just seems way too crazy. I would definitely live outside and then commute.
  • Apparently, there are 16,000 restaurants in the city. Why would you ever eat at McDonald’s or Applebees?
  • Anytime I’m in the city, it’s hard to shake the fact that there are people all around me who are probably doing something about 100 times more interesting than what I’m doing. Say I wanted to stay in and watch “The Office” on Thursday night. I would feel very anti-social.
  • Whenever the Yankees are at home, I love how the TV networks show the New York skyline, as if Yankee Stadium is somehow right in the middle of Manhattan, which it’s not. It’s like when they show downtown Detroit during Pistons games. Um, not even close.
  • Do they really still pack meat in the Meatpacking District?
  • Best thing about walking around Manhattan? The fact that all the streets are numbered. For a guy like me who gets lost all the time, it’s a lifesaver.
  • I can make it there and I can make it anywhere.
Written by dougwernert

March 28, 2010 at 8:29 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If you’re wandering around Central Park this weekend… go have a cocktail at Tavern on the Green. Super-cheap way to try a classic NYC restaurant.

    Lish

    March 29, 2010 at 11:39 pm


Leave a Reply

